“The hardest thing to do in baseball is to hit a round baseball, with a round bat, squarely.”
Several situations involving pitchers, batters, and catchers are covered in the Major League Baseball rule book. Pitchers will intentionally or unintentionally hit the batter with a pitch.
When hitters are struck by a pitch that is out of the strike zone, there are consequences; hitters will be given an acceptable starting place.
While there is no specific ruling in the standard book, if the pitch was in the strike zone, the umpire can call a negative mark against the batter. The batter continues to stand at the plate. “When a batter develops into a sprinter,” says Rule 5.05.
Table Of Contents
Except if the following occurs, a batter is given a reasonable starting point:
If the pitcher throws a strike and it touches the batter, the hit-by-pitch rule is nullified. Since moving into the strike zone, the batter has not been given a good starting place; if he had, he would not have been struck. The umpire calls the pitch a negative mark against the batter because no-hit by pitch is called.
The umpire does not govern a hit by a pitch if the batter is not attempting to move the ball. The player does not go to the first base because the pitch is managed as a ball. A batter does not have the option of rejecting a struck by a pitch. A batter walking or staying at the plate is decided by the umpire after all is said and done.
According to Rule 5.05, if a batter is struck by a pitch, he can either move his body into the strike zone (or stay at the plate with a strike called against him) or no attempt to move away from the ball.